July 28, 2020 1:30 pm – Three states added to list

Earlier today, Governor Cuomo announced that an additional three states along with Washington D.C. and Puerto Rico have been added to the 14-day travel quarantine list.   The new states are Illinois, Kentucky and Minnesota, making 34 states total, plus the two territories. Minnesota was put back on the list after being removed last week.


The full updated list of states on the travel advisory include:


  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Washington D.C.
  • Wisconsin


The travel advisory quarantine applies to any person that arrives from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.


People caught violating the advisory risk civil penalties ranging from $2,000 to $10,000, Gov. Cuomo said last month.


There are exceptions to the travel advisory for essential businesses.  Guidance on travel to these states for essential employees can be found at https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory.