July 14, 2020 12:00 pm – States added to quarantine list

Gov. Andrew Cuomo just announced four more states have been added to the coronavirus travel advisory, which requires incoming travelers from these states to self-quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.

The new states are Minnesota, New Mexico, Ohio and Wisconsin.

The full list as of Tuesday is as follows:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin


The travel advisory quarantine applies to any person who arrives from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

People caught violating the advisory risk civil penalties ranging from $2,000 to $10,000.

Travelers visiting any New York airport will need to fill out a New York State Traveler Health Form upon arrival.  The form asks for the names and addresses of the arriving individual or family, whether they have traveled to states designated as having a significant community spread, if they have experienced fever, chills, cough or difficulty breathing, and their final destination in New York State.

The form also addresses resident essential workers and those essential workers who plan to be in New York State for short periods and those essential workers who must remain for more than 36 hours.

Specifics on the travel advisory and essential worker exemptions can be found at https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory.